Michele Bachmann

Where do I start?

I have not been paying as much attention as I should be to the upcoming elections, but I do know that Michele Bachmann is the “new” Sarah Palin.

Except worse.

Bachmann has rejected ‘feminism’ and voiced her lack of support towards homosexuality and, of course, believes in the biblical notion that women should be completely submissive to their husbands. I understand, though, that the term feminism has been distorted in the political arena, especially with Sarah Palin labeling herself as a feminist.

It just makes no sense at all to me why Bachmann would not commit herself to changing women’s rights and opportunities. She has made extra effort to target Planned Parenthood and the reproductive rights of women.¬†“If Planned Parenthood is defunded on a federal level, millions of low-income women, many in rural or medically underserved communities, would lose access to basic preventative health services, such as pap smears, breast exams, screenings for sexually transmitted diseases and affordable birth control.” (huffingtonpost.com) SERIOUSLY? In addition, she has voted in favor for the banning of abortion and for discontinuing medical training for safe abortions. I don’t understand how she can be so fervent about taking away women’s ability to control their reproductive system or even receive birth control when she HAS her own set of ovaries. It just perpetuates the idea that women have no say when it comes to their reproductive system.

There’s one quote I’d like to address:

”Does that mean that someone’s 13-year-old daughter could walk into a sex clinic, have a pregnancy test done, be taken away to the local Planned Parenthood abortion clinic, have their abortion, be back and go home on the school bus? That night, mom and dad are never the wiser.” -Michele Bachmann

WHAT. I cannot even put into words this ridiculousness. For one, abstinence education is a joke. Secondly, I highly highly doubt that any person would take an experience, such as abortion, that lightly. Especially a 13-year-old girl. She must be terrified at the possibility of pregnancy and, in my opinion, if she had been given better access to birth control and better educated about pregnancy and the responsibilities involved with sexual intercourse, then the likelihood of her having to resort to an abortion would have decreased dramatically. It is insulting that Michele Bachmann would even imply that abortion is so… flippant.

Another thing that just blows my mind is her family’s gay therapy clinic. Yes, gay therapy clinic because homosexuality is some sort of disease. Just thinking about all of the people that agree with Bachmann and think that her clinic is ‘helping’ is depressing. The fact that people cannot be proud of their sexuality because of societal pressure is sad and frustrating. Since when has love been a problem? If anything, love is the reason why human beings are still alive today.

As I’m learning more about society, people, the government and life in general through my experiences, I am increasingly afraid. I am afraid that I have been conditioned to accept the status quo and keep my head down because that’s what I’m supposed to do.


Leave a Reply

